State Bar Association of North Dakota Award Winners Include Several UND Law Alumni

The State Bar Association of North Dakota (SBAND) held its annual meeting on June 14-16, 2017 in Fargo, North Dakota. At the Thursday awards luncheon, several UND School of Law alumni were recognized for their service to the Bar Association and to the state of North Dakota.

"We are proud of our alumni and the work they do to serve the citizens of our state,” said Dean Kathryn Rand. "As North Dakota's law school, we strive to continue the legacy established by our outstanding alumni by emphasizing for our students the importance of service to the legal profession and giving back to our communities."

UND School of Law Alumni Award Recipients for 2017

Joel Gilbertson, Class of 1975 - Distinguished Service Award
The Distinguished Service Award is SBAND's highest honor for North Dakota attorneys. It honors a member of the profession who has provided outstanding service to the state and legal community over an extended career. The names of award winners are listed on a plaque which hangs outside the North Dakota Supreme Court to permanently honor the recipients and to remind lawyers ad the public of their dedication and work.

Judge David Nelson, Class of 1981 - Liberty Bell Award
The Liberty Bell Award is given to individuals or organizations who promote understanding of our form of government, encourage greater respect for law and the courts, and stimulate a deeper sense of responsibility on the part of citizens regarding their duties as well as their rights.

Community Service Awards
- given to those recognized for outstanding service in their community
Steven Lies, Class of 1972, Wahpeton, ND
Cassandra Marka, Class of 2013, Grand Forks, ND
Judith Roberts, Class of 2011, Bismarck, ND
Richard LeMay, Class of 1988, Minot, ND
James Wang, Class of 1988, Minnewaukan, ND (not pictured)


Years of Service Recognition - given in recognition of years of service in the Bar Association

Judge Kirk Smith
Class of 1957
60 years of service

Judge John Paulson
Malcolm Brown
John Olsrud
(not pictured)
Class of 1967
50 years of service

40 Years of Service
Several UND Law alumni were also given recognition for 40 years of service

Additional Awards and Recognition include:

Senator Karen Krebsbach, Legislative Service Award
Petra Mandigo Hulm, Community Service Award
Albert Wolf, 60 years of service

“While we are particularly proud of each of our alumni who were honored, we are grateful for the generous service and excellent work of all of the awardees,” said Dean Rand. “Our state is fortunate to have such a well qualified and dedicated bench and bar.”